Thinking, Fast and Slow

I’m currently reading Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman. It’s a great read. The research he has done and has surveyed for this is amazing. It’s helping me to be aware of the traps I fall into daily because of the way I’m wired. The thrust is behind understanding two systems the brain uses (fast, intuitive vs. slow, methodical). We need both, but sometimes the fast, intuitive “System 1” takes over when we’d be better off slowing down to let “System 2” work something out. I will post more specific lessons I take away from this, particularly as they relate to testing in the weeks to come, but do check it out. Fascinating stuff.

About David Slick

Agile software QA and delivery manager, trying to learn all I can, think critically, and build great software. View all posts by David Slick

2 responses to “Thinking, Fast and Slow

  • Phil Kirkham

    I think there are quite a few testers reading it at the moment ( I am ) or have read it and are recommending it. I’m finding it a great read but I’m taking it slow and thinking a lot

Leave a Reply

